MINUTES of a MEETING of the WILTSHIRE & SWINDON FIRE AUTHORITY held at the WILTSHIRE FRS TRAINING & DEVELOPMENT CENTRE, HOPTON INDUSTRIAL ESTATE, DEVIZES on WEDNESDAY 30 MAY 2012

Present: Cllr P Davis, Cllr C Devine, Cllr Mrs M Groom, Cllr Brigadier R Hall,

Cllr N Martin, Cllr J Osborn, Cllr G Payne, Cllr G Perkins, Cllr Mrs B

Wayman

17 Membership

The Clerk reported that the constituent authorities had appointed the following to be members of the Authority for the ensuing year :

Swindon Borough Council:

Cllr N Martin, Cllr B Mattock, Cllr G Perkins, Cllr R Wright

Wiltshire Council:

Cllr P Davis, Cllr C Devine, Cllr Mrs M Groom, Cllr Brigadier R Hall, Cllr H Marshall, Cllr C Newbury, Cllr J Osborn, Cllr G Payne, Cllr Mrs B Wayman

18 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Mattock, Marshall, Newbury and Wright

19 Election of Chairman

This item was conducted by the Clerk, Cllr Brigadier R Hall having relinquished the chair prior to the meeting. Members agreed to suspend Standing Order 5.2 for this item of business to avoid the need for a secret ballot for the election of Chairman.

Cllr Brigadier R Hall was elected Chairman for the ensuing year and took the chair for the remainder of the meeting.

20 Election of Vice Chairman

Members agreed to suspend Standing Order 5.2 for this item of business to avoid the need for a secret ballot for the election of Vice Chairman.

Cllr N Martin was elected Vice Chairman for the ensuing year.

21 Minutes of Last Meeting

The minutes of the meetings held on 14 February 2012 were confirmed and signed.

22 Chairman's Announcements

The Chairman welcomed the re-appointed members of the Authority and in particular the new Member of the Fire Authority appointed by Swindon Borough Council, Cllr B Mattock (Cllr Mattock having sent his apologies).

The Chairman also went on to pay tribute to the considerable contribution made by the retiring Swindon Member, David Wren. A letter would be sent on behalf of the Authority expressing the thanks of Members for his exemplary service. The Chairman also reported on the good progress made by Cllr Marshall in recovering from his operation.

The Chairman went on to give details of:

- The Authority's congratulations to the "Safe Drive, Stay Alive" team on winning the Health Improvement Partnership Award from the Wiltshire Assembly.
- The re-scheduling of Members' Stations visits to an appropriate time during the implementation phase of the Transformation Programme.
- The attendance of Authority Members and Service personnel at the Service in Salisbury Cathedral on Friday 1st June to mark the Queen's Diamond Jubilee.
- The attendance of Cllrs Wren and Newbury and the Chief Fire Officer at the LGA Conference in Bournemouth in March.
- The briefing/training session for members on the subject of Transformation and Risk to be held after the CFA meeting.

23 Questions from the Public

The Chairman responded to a written question from a member of the public on the decision taken by the Fire Authority in respect of the Council Tax. With the permission of the Chairman:

- A representative of the Fire Brigades Union made a statement on behalf of the Union regarding the Transformation Programme.
- A representative of the Retained Fire-fighters Union presented a letter regarding the Transformation Programme.

24 (1) Programme & Scrutiny Board Update Report

A report of the meeting of the Board held on 8th May 2012 was received.

(2) Terms of Reference

On considering a paper by the Chief Fire Officer and Clerk to the Authority,

Resolved;

To approve revised terms of reference for the Programme & Scrutiny Board and the four workstreams.

25 Finance Review & Audit Committee

The minutes of the meeting of the Finance Review & Audit Committee held on 20 March 2012 were received.

26 Fire Control Resilience

On considering a paper by the Deputy Chief Fire Officer and Director of ICT,

Resolved:

- a) To note the report.
- b) To endorse and support the partnership approach as outlined in the report.
- c) To enter into a Partnership Agreement with Devon & Somerset, Dorset and Hampshire FRAs on terms to be agreed by the Chief Fire Officer & Chief Executive and Clerk to the Authority.
- d) To approve the capital project for the provision of fire control services being added to the capital programme for which government funding of £1.8m has already been received.

27 Protection, Prevention and Intervention

A short visual presentation was made.

28 Staffing Committee

The minutes of the meeting of the Staffing Committee held on 30 March 2012 were received.

29 Membership of Committees and Representations on Other Bodies, etc.

On considering a paper by the Clerk,

Resolved:

To approve the nomination of members to the positions, and the appointment of members to the committees and other bodies, as set out in the table appended to these minutes for the ensuing year, i.e. until the annual meeting of the Authority in 2013.

30 Dates of Meetings 2012

Members agreed that Thursday 21st June 2012 should be fixed as a date for a special meeting of the Authority to consider proposals for implementation of the provisions of the Localism Act regarding standards of members' conduct. Members also agreed that the meeting of the Authority in September 2012 should be moved from the 20th to the 27th September.

31 South West Fire Control Limited

Members noted that this Company, of which the Authority was a member, was likely to be dissolved in late July or August 2012.

(Duration of meeting 10.30 a.m. to 11.40 a.m.)

WILTSHIRE AND SWINDON FIRE AUTHORITY MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2 012 / 13

Committee/body	No of places	Allocation of places where rules on political proportionality apply	Member(s) or representatives	Deputies where permitted
Finance Review & Audit Committee	5	Conservatives – 3 Liberal Democrat – 1 Other -1	Councillor G Perkins Councillor C Devine Councillor G Payne Councillor J Osborn Councillor R Wright	n/a
Urgency Committee	5	Conservatives – 3 Liberal Democrat – 1 Other -1	Councillor Brigadier R Hall Councillor N Martin Councillor P Davis Councillor H R Marshall Councillor C Newbury	n/a
Standards Committee (Chairman : Mr D Barker)	3 + 3 lay	n/a	Councillor Mrs B Wayman Councillor H R Marshall Councillor C Newbury Mr D Barker) Mr R McMillan)lay members Mr D Inight)	n/a
Staffing Committee	3	n/a	Councillor P Davis Councillor J Osborn Councillor N Martin	n/a
Programme & Scrutiny Board	3	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall Councillor N Martin Councillor J Osborn	n/a

LGA General Assembly	4	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall Councillor N Martin Councillor H R Marshall Councillor C Newbury	None
LGA Fire Forum	1	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall	Councillor N Martin
Rural Commission	1	n/a	Councillor Mrs B Wayman Councillor Mrs M Groom	None
South West Councils	1	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall	Councillor N Martin
South West Provincial Council	1	n/a	Councillor N Martin	
Wiltshire Assembly	1	n/a	Councillor H R Marshall	Councillor G Payne
Wiltshire Public Service Board	1	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall	Councillor N Martin

Programme & Scrutiny Board Workstreams

Workstream Lead Deputy Lead(s) Cllr P Davis Cllr Mrs B Wayman Cllr G Perkins HR, Training & Development Operational Delivery Cllr H R Marshall Cllr B Mattock Cllr Mrs M Groom Finance & ICT Cllr C Devine Cllr G Payne Cllr G Perkins Cllr H R Marshall Performance, Risk Management Cllr C Newbury Cllr R Wright Cllr J Osborn Cllr G Payne & Partnerships Cllr R Wright

Member Champions

Equality & Diversity Cllr P Davis Climate Change/Carbon Cllr Mrs M Groom Cllr J Osborn Data

30.5.2012

Pool of members

for Appeal Committee

Cllr P Davis